City Centre 2030+ | Future Public Space

Morgenstadt Innovation Partnership

Shopping, Recreation, Culture, Entertainment, Living, Work and Contact - several aspects of everyday life take place?in city centres as these act as central economic and cultural hubs. City centres are an important location factor, living lab and a platform for innovation in one. However cities are facing major challenges in different aspects and on different scales: retail, mobility, gastronomy as well as large companies and the cultural industry are fearing their existence due to the current crisis. In a short time it got visible what had been indicated for many years. “The future of public space has started long ago” as Steffen Braun, Head of Urban Systems Engineering Research Unit, says. “We therefore build, together with the initiative Stadtretter and other future oriented companies and cities, a powerful network in order to think ahead today to create and test solutions of tomorrow.

Context

Current challenges are symptoms of an understanding of a planned city that has been going on for decades and is increasingly reaching its limits.

Concept

Fraunhofer IAO and Stadtretter, together with actors from Administration, Economy, Research and Society, initiate an innovation partnership in order to develop future-proof concepts for public space and city centres.

Become part of the Innovation Partnership

Contact us and we will send you individual offers for your participation. 

 

 

Ongoing survey

To ensure appropriate solutions which address actual needs, this survey asks for a short assessment of your status quo. Please take 10 to 15 minutes to carefully complete this survey.

News

News from the Morgenstadt Innovation Partnership »City Centre 2030+ | Future Public Space«

 

Benefit from the four pillars of the Innovations Partnership

© Gábor Molnár on Unsplash

An interdisciplinary network of Municipalities, Businesses and Research

Become part of the biggest Innovation Partnership for future proof city centres

© Unsplash

Video from the project kick-off on October 14th, 2020 (German)

Here you can watch the video of the project kick-off on October 14th, including contributions from: 

  • Dr.Ing. Timo Munzinger, Urban Development and Urban Planning at the Association of German Cities (Deutscher Städtetag)
  • Reiner Nagel, Chairman of the Board of the Federal Building Culture Foundation
  • Claudius Schaufler, Head of Team Smart Urban Environments at Fraunhofer IAO
  • Thomas Steiner, Accountant Director at GfK

 

WebTalk with Stadtretter-Network (German)

On September 15, an information event took place, in which Claudius Schaufler from Fraunhofer IAO presented the project modules and the opportunities for participation. The presentation can be viewed below.

re:publica Campus - Project Talk (German)

As part of the re:publica Campus, Claudius Schaufler, Head of Competence Team Smart Urban Environments at Fraunhofer IAO, and Stefan Müller-Schleipen, Co-Founder of the initiative Stadtretter, gave an initial outlook on the joint project »City Centre 2030 + | Future Public Space «.

Innenstadt 2030+| Future Public Space

Eine Morgenstadt Innovationspartnerschaft

Einkaufen, Erholung, Kultur, Unterhaltung, Wohnen, Arbeiten, Kontakt – in Innenstädten treffen sämtliche Bereiche unseres Alltags aufeinander, damit kommt ihnen als wirtschaftliches und kulturelles Zentrum eine besondere Bedeutung zu. Sie sind Standortfaktor, Reallabore und Innovationsplattform zugleich. Doch Städte und Kommunen stehen vor massiven Herausforderungen: Einzelhandel, Mobilitätsanbieter, Gastronomie, aber auch große Handelsunternehmen und die Kulturwirtschaft kämpfen durch die aktuelle Krise um ihre Existenz. Sie hat in kurzer Zeit sichtbar gemacht, was sich seit vielen Jahren angedeutet hat. »Die Zukunft der Innenstädte hat schon längst begonnen«, so Steffen Braun, Leiter des Forschungsbereichs Stadtsystem-Gestaltung am Fraunhofer-Institut für Arbeitswirtschaft und Organisation IAO. »Wir bauen deshalb mit den Stadtrettern sowie weiteren zukunftsorientierten Unternehmen und Kommunen einen schlagkräftigen Verbund auf, um die Lösungen von morgen bereits heute vorauszudenken und praktisch zu erproben.«

Der Kontext

Derzeit auftauchende Herausforderungen sind Symptome eines seit Jahrzehnten andauernden Verständnisses einer geplanten Stadt, das zunehmend an seine Grenzen stößt.

Das Konzept

Gemeinsam mit Akteueren aus Verwaltung, Wirtschaft, Forschung bis Gesellschaft initiieren Fraunhofer IAO und Stadtretter eine Innovationsoffensive zur Entwicklung neuer Innenstadtkonzepte. 

Werden Sie Teil der Innovationspartnerschaft

Kontaktieren Sie uns, wir bieten Ihnen individuelle Angebote zur Teilnahme.

 

Aktuelle Umfrage

Zur Gewährleistung bedarfsgerechter Lösungen möchten wir Sie in einer Umfrage um eine aktuelle Einschätzung Ihres Status-Quo bitten. Bitte nehmen Sie sich ca. 10 bis 15 Minuten Zeit und füllen die Umfrage sorgfältig aus. Vielen Dank!

Aktuelles

Aktuelles aus der Morgenstadt Innovationspartnerschaft "Innenstadt 2030+| Future Public Space".

 

Profitieren Sie von den vier Bausteinen der Innovationspartnerschaft

© Gábor Molnár on Unsplash

Ein interdisziplinäres Netzwerk aus Kommunen, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft

Werden Sie jetzt Teil der größten Innovationspartnerschaft zu zukunftsfähigen Innenstädten!

© Unsplash

Video vom Projektauftakt am 14. Oktober 2020

Hier können Sie sich das Video vom Projektauftakt am 14. Oktober ansehen. Unter anderem mit Beiträgen von

  • Dr.-Ing. Timo Munzinger, Referent für Stadtentwicklung und Städtebau beim Deutschen Städtetag
  • Reiner Nagel, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Bundesstiftung Baukultur
  • Claudius Schaufler, Teamleiter Smart Urban Environments beim Fraunhofer IAO
  • Thomas Steiner, Account Director bei der GfK

 

WebTalk im Stadtretter-Netzwerk

Am 15. September fand im Rahmen des Stadtretter-Netzwerks eine Informationsveranstaltung statt, in der Claudius Schaufler vom Fraunhofer IAO die Projektbausteine und die Partizipationsmöglichkeiten vorstellte. Die Präsentation kann untenstehend angesehen werden.

 

re:publica Campus - Projekttalk

Im Rahmen des re:publica Campus gaben Claudius Schaufler, Head of Competence Team Smart Urban Environments bei Fraunhofer IAO, und Stefan Müller-Schleipen, Mitinitiator der Initiative – Die Stadtretter, im Gespräch mit Andrea Bauer einen ersten Ausblick auf das gemeinsame Projekt »Innenstadt 2030+ | Future Public Space«.